Daruma Doll

Image from this site.

Daruma doll (a.k.a. Dharma doll) means so much to me since I had it on my skin. It is known for goal setting in Zen Buddhism. The eyes of Daruma are often blank when sold. The recipient of the doll fills in one eye upon setting the goal, then the other upon fulfilling it. In this way, every time they see the one-eyed Daruma, they recall the goal and do their best to accomplish it. I’m not really good at goal setting but this may help in such a clever way.

work in progress

Materials used:

  • Felt fabrics in red, white, black and yellow.
  • needle and threads (same as the mentioned colors above)
  • polyfiber fill

Tada!

I made it as a replica of my tat although the details on the eyes were not alike. This took me more or less than an hour in one sitting. Oh, I’d like to take this chance to give credits to the one who made this design. He/she’s brilliant!

I haven’t made my own plush for quite a time due to overflowing orders we have in Monsterella. This made me more inspired and delighted in a way. I’m planning to create more in different styles as well as without eyes. Still thinking of ways on how to make them detachable. I could giveaway some soon perhaps. Comment in this post if you want one. 🙂

There are times when ideas were just overflowing and you should take advantage of it. So glad this is my first entry under diy/crafts. I will post my upcoming craft projects soon.

My daruma hime

Check out other daruma tats I love:

Daruma hime is also the logo plush of Monsterella Plush Art.

Whoa! Daruma overload! How do you like it?

Daruma lover,

Joycee x

3 thoughts on “Daruma Doll

  1. Pingback: Keeping Your Eyes On The Prize | Move Back Two Squares

  2. Pingback: Nifty Links: 3 Lovely Things I’m Into | Hello Cheechako

Leave a Reply

